The Opposition

At some point in 1970, The Opposition, then known as "Art", recorded three tracks at Beck Studio in Wellingsborough. Engineer Derek Tomkins told the group they could record three songs in the time scheduled. The group was only prepared to perform two tracks, "Sunny" and "Vehicle". A third song was quickly improvised, an instrumental track called Transit 3 (named after the band's new van). A few acetates were cut; it is unknown how many have survived. A cassette copy does exist, copied from Nigel Bullen's acetate.

The band at this time was made up of Dave Williams (guitars), Richard Young (keyboards), Nigel Bullen (drums), Alan Brown (vocals), and future Queen member John Deacon (bass). Later in 1969, John Deacon left for London to study at the Chelsea College Of Technology. While there, John Deacon formed another band, called Deacon. In 1971, John became the final member to join Queen.

Beck Studio Sessions - 1970
1. Transit 3 (Williams/Young/Bullen/Brown/Deacon)
2. Vehicle (Peterik)
3. Sunny (Hebb)

Transit 3

Transit 3 2:32
Appears on: The Opposition acetate vinyl (c. 1970)

The only original composition recorded by The Opposition (known at that time as Art). The track was named after the band's third van, dubbed "Transit 3." The track is an instrumental, featuring heavy use of an organ keyboard, and taped in mono.


Vehicle 2:21
Appears on: The Opposition acetate vinyl (c. 1970)

A cover of an obscure blues track that later became a hit for The Ides Of March. Lead vocals provided by Alan Brown.


Sunny 2:50
Appears on: The Opposition acetate vinyl (c. 1970)

Cover of the Bobby Hebb track.